‍CGA Project Shortlisted for RIBA Stirling Prize 2023: Celebrating Architectural Excellence

September 27, 2023

A Recognition of Architectural Brilliance

We are delighted to share a momentous achievement at Clive Graham Associates (CGA). One of our remarkable projects has earned a coveted spot on the shortlist for the prestigious 2023 RIBA Stirling Prize. This esteemed recognition, presented by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), celebrates the UK's finest new buildings.

The RIBA Stirling Prize: A Revered Honor in Architecture

The RIBA Stirling Prize is the highest accolade in the field of architecture, presented annually since 1996. It spotlights innovative, groundbreaking, and influential architectural achievements. This year, six exceptional structures, including one of CGA's projects, have been selected as finalists.

An Enlightening Exhibition: Showcasing Architectural Excellence

From September 14th to November 10th, an enlightening exhibition featuring each shortlisted project will be open to the public at 66 Portland Place. This exhibition provides a unique opportunity to explore and appreciate the architectural wonders that have earned their place in the spotlight.

Muyiwa Oki's Perspective: Architectural Solutions for Today's Challenges

RIBA President Muyiwa Oki remarked,

"The 2023 Stirling Prize shortlist illustrates why architecture matters to all of us. These six remarkable buildings offer thoughtful, creative responses to the complex challenges we face today. Whether it's addressing issues like loneliness, community building, or heritage preservation, these projects provide bold blueprints for purposeful architecture."

Addressing Critical Issues: Architecture with a Purpose

Amidst the backdrop of pressing concerns such as housing shortages, growing inequality, and economic uncertainties, this year's shortlist demonstrates the power of well-designed buildings to offer genuinely inspiring solutions to our most pressing problems.

The RIBA Stirling Prize Criteria: What Sets the Winners Apart

The RIBA Stirling Prize considers a range of criteria when judging nominees. These include design vision, innovation and originality, the capacity to stimulate, engage, and delight occupants and visitors, accessibility and sustainability, suitability for its purpose, and the level of client satisfaction.

CGA's Project on the Stirling Prize Shortlist

One of the projects that CGA has proudly contributed to is the "John Morden Centre" for our esteemed client, Morden College. This remarkable project has already received recognition with awards such as the RIBA London Award 2023 and RIBA London Building of the Year 2023, sponsored by EH Smith, and the RIBA National Award 2023, sponsored by Forterra.

The "John Morden Centre" is a significant achievement designed by Mæ, and it plays a vital role in supporting Morden College's mission. Founded in 1695, Morden College is a charitable organization dedicated to providing older people in need with a home for life, including residential and nursing care. The Centre houses essential social and medical facilities for the residents on this historic Grade I-listed college site, attributed to the renowned English architect Sir Christopher Wren.

CGA's Commitment to Architectural Excellence

At CGA, we are honored to be a the contractors behind the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlisted project. This recognition reflects our unwavering commitment to delivering construction alongside purposeful architecture that addresses contemporary challenges and enhances the built environment. We extend our gratitude to our dedicated team, partners, and clients who have made this achievement possible.

You can view the Morden College project by clicking here

Contractor Clive Graham Associates

Interior Design Scott-Masson Interior Design

Structural Engineer Michael Hadi Associates

Environmental / M&E Engineer BOOM

Quantity Surveyor / Cost Consultant Calford Seaden

Project Management Calford Seaden

Landscape Architect J&L Gibbons

Planning Consultant Stanway Little

Stay tuned for updates as we embark on this exciting journey to the RIBA Stirling Prize, and continue to follow our journey.